I got the job!

 

Today I got offered the job that I had applied for months ago. It has been a really long process, such is the nature of this type of work, but at last they phoned me!. I am going to be working as a Teacher in a Special School for Autistic Children. I can’t wait. I have always felt more drawn to this kind of one-to-one approach and working with Special needs. I didn’t enjoy mainstream education and having too many kids in my classroom, not being able to really cater for any of them individually. So, I am going to be continuing with my Art, and hopefully using my skills to develop therapy work for the students…and also I’d like to share some ideas with other people who have experience of Autism. I admit, I have not and will be going through a lot of training. So, my blog will be taking yet another path, whilst diverging back to my other more personal topics as well. I hope to connect with people about Autism and learn as much as I can!

Here’s where I will be working:

http://www.kisimul.co.uk/acacia_hall.html

Namaste!

Serena

 

26 thoughts on “I got the job!

  1. FeyGirl says:

    Congratulations β€” What a most amazing job! I wanted to pursue art therapy when I was younger, but got caught up in ed. publishing. I always wish I had pursued it. Can’t wait to hear about your experiences with it… β™₯

    • Thanks FeyGirl. It isn’t actually an Art Therapy job but they do a lot of art so I hope to focus in on therapy. I will post regularly! Thank you as well, Matariki πŸ™‚ Blessings

  2. Matariki says:

    Many congratulations!
    Really chuffed for you … sending you best wishes and big hugs!

  3. Patrick says:

    Congrats to you! I have not had any training specifically in autism… but as I am a music teacher at a giant middle school, I see them all and have worked with many kids with different special needs. They make me smile… most of the time. πŸ™‚

  4. What a wonderful and meaningful journey you’re beginning! Though my sister was not autistic she had cerebral palsy and a few other special needs, and my life was enriched and forever changed because of her. I worked in a home with some very wonderful people with special needs, from down syndrome to autism, in my early twenties, my life forever changed and blessed by the experience. Wishing you many blessings on your new journey!

    • Thank you Butterfly Julz, I am sure I will be blessed and I will get back just as much love and rewarding experiences as I will give them. They deserve the best chance in life πŸ™‚

  5. madness42 says:

    Congratulations πŸ™‚ you may hear quite a bit about mainstream provision for autism from me.. it will be very interesting to see how provision varies in different settings!

  6. Congratulations, and best of a luck in what is less a new job, and more an entirely new way of looking at the world. Welcome to our community. πŸ™‚

  7. Good for you Nomadic Angel and it’s nice to see that you LIKE this work. We need more people like you. Special Needs kids are very important. They are so often neglected.

  8. Yes, I agree. I got very frustrated working in mainstream, I didn’t have the time to give those children who needed it most and my energy seemed to be sapped up but those who insisted on misbehaving and spoiling the lessons for everyone else. The school I will be working in has an assistant for each child, a small class of maximum 7 pupils and they do music and art as well as going out swimming. There’s also a small farm and they learn how to take care of the animals, as well as facilities such as a huge kitchen where they learn to cook. This is what they deserve….respect, love and a chance to be the best they can be and live as independently as they can πŸ™‚

  9. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!

  10. Wow Congrats!!!! That is so amazing, with your talent I’m sure you will do amazing! I know its not art therapy but I have been wanting to take a course but I’m not sure I can handle all that schooling again! lol. I still want to do it but with just art and not a therapy, well I think art is a healer anyways! lol lol..

  11. Fantastic! Congratulations, hope it’s all you hope it will be!

  12. They say that these Autistic kids are Crystal Children. If they’re not speaking, it’s because they use telepathy. Try speaking to them with your mind if you can’t with words. This will fun for you, even on a spiritual level! These are highly evolved souls πŸ™‚ Pay attention to their eyes as well and see how deep they are.

    • Brandie, what a wonderful message, thank you. It’s funny you should say that because I have been with a lovely boy this week, he’s 18 but is only 8 months old, wearing nappies and not responding to much except things that move. He didn’t like being touched and would never sit on a chair, but this week I have managed to massage his hands and he now holds my hand all the time, and he sits down at the desk a lot more. All he needed was someone to talk to him and encourage him. I noticed his eyes straight away. He has beautiful, kind brown eyes. He didnt look at me much to start with but we have made a lot of eye contact in the last few days and he even smiles now. I believe what you say. I think I have been communicating with him more through emotions and our psychs. It has worked! I will be trying it with all the students I work with! πŸ™‚

  13. It’s fantastic you’ve been able to connect with him! I believe the reason why they/he has a hard time with touch or sitting is because their psychic senses are on overload and it’s too much for them. They are able to tap into all energy and energy is left behind on everything and it’s just everywhere. I bet he really likes your energy as well and can feel your spiritual energy. When he makes eye contact, quiet your mind and see if he’s trying to communicate with you. Maybe try going into an almost meditative state but look at him. Good luck and let me know how the improvements/experiences go!

Leave a Reply

