Ethical Silver – It’s not rocket science.

Greg Valerio

Silver jewellery was the product I fell in love with when I first got into the jewellery trade. Practically it was cheaper than gold, but I found that it was also a lot more versatile. I could afford to be more creative and diverse in my product approach. From the fashion perspective it made total sense and its affordable diversity allowed me to give my customers a continually changing selection of new ranges that didn’t break their bank accounts or mine.

On an ethical front it was the search for a fair trade silver source that got me into the ethical issues in the jewellery trade. I was intentional about wanting to be a fair trade jeweller. I was equally clear I did not want to go down the ‘hippy chic- hemp underwear’ design cliche that was rightfully associated with the idea of fair trade jewellery at the time.

Yet…

View original post 649 more words

Leave a Reply

